The George C. Marshall High School Hall of Fame Inductees

To find out about the Hall of Fame consideration process for Marshall Alums,contact Joe Swarm at the Activities Office at

The Marshall Hall of Fame was initiated by a collection of booster members and administrators, with its initial activity in 1998.  The Marshall Hall of Fame Mission Statement follows:

The Marshall Hall of Fame was established to recognize the accomplishments of those students, coaches, athletic administrators, teams and others who through their involvement in athletics have made significant, lasting contributions to George C. Marshall High School in the strength, quality, and reputation of its athletic programs.  The members of the Marshall Athletic Hall of Fame exemplify the importance of sports in our society and its role in developing the personal attributes in the young men and women athletes at Marshall which establish the foundations for future success in the "game" of adult life.


The Hall of Fame Touchscreen is Up and Running in the Rear Lobby next to the Concession Stand! Thanks to the Boosters, Ms. Veoni, and Principal Litz for making this happen! You can access it online as well.

Check out the latest schedule, tweets, news and best of all the great history of Marshall Athletics. This is a work in progress, but the goal is to have access to all the historical information of Marshall's teams available to everyone.  Very cool.

The current members of the Marshall Hall of Fame and their years of induction is as follows:



Christina Carroll - Class of 1994

While at GCM, Christina was a 3-sport athlete in Field Hockey, Basketball, and Soccer accumulating 8 Varsity Letters.   As a Field Hockey player, she was 1st Team All-District (2 times), 2nd Team All-Region, Honorable Mention All-Met, and Team Defense MVP.  After graduation she attended George Mason University and continued her love of the game by playing Club Level Field Hockey because they did not (and currently still do not) have a Varsity Program.

After college she returned to Marshall High School and is currently in her 25th year of coaching Field Hockey (21st as Varsity Head Coach).  Over this time her teams have accumulated over 194 wins, 5 straight conference championships (2014 – Current), a regional championship (2005), a Regional Runner-Up (2014), and 2 State Tournament Appearances (2005 and 2014).

She has been District Coach of the Year (4 times) and Regional Coach of the Year.  Christina is currently the longest tenured coach at Marshall and is GCM’s All-Time winningest Field Hockey Coach.  Her favorite memory came in the form of an entire ‘Cinderella’ season, the Fall of 2005.  The team’s previous season was less than stellar and nobody (outside the team) expected anything big from them.  The team played as a unit that season – really playing for each other.  The surprised everyone  as they went on to play in the District finals against powerhouse Woodson.   Although they lost that game, they went on to win the next 4 games in the Regional Tournament to set up another meeting with Woodson in the Regional finals.  They prevailed in the rematch to advance to the State Tournament for the first time in school history.


She is proud to have been part of the development of so many athletes and to have played a role in helping many of them go on to play collegiately.  Seven have gone on to play D1 and many more to D2 and D3 programs. In addition to coaching High School Field Hockey, she is a Level 2 US Field Hockey Coach, coaches club level, and still plays when she can.  She is also a former president of the Washington Field Hockey Association. Christina currently lives in Vienna with her husband, Tom (GCM Class of ’95), and their 4 boys, Ryan, Patrick, Andrew, and Matthew.


  • Kent Blackstone, Basketball/Baseball - 2012

  • Wanda Morton (Robinson), Track & Field - 1980

  • David Friedman, Wrestling/Football - 2001

  • Betty Luxford, Basketball/Field Hockey/Softball - 1977

  • Jason McMahon, Football/Baseball - 1995


  • Joseph Sartiano, Jr., Football/Basketball/Baseball - 1980

  • Dave Watt, Track & Field/Cross Country - 1974

  • Allan “Michael” Geiger, Tennis - 1982

  • Lauren Chaikin, Cross Country/Track & Field/Swimming - 2000

  • Tim Kearny, Basketball - 1980 


  • John Herbots, Track & Field/Cross Country - 1966

  • James (Jim) Murray, Football/Wrestling/Track & Field - 1972

  • Dusty Kuzma, Track & Field - 1976

  • Jacqueline Hargrove, Track & Field/Cross County/Soccer - 2007

  • Jimmie Lee Miller, Coach - 1967-1976.


  • David Cannon, Track & Field - 1974

  • Justin Counts, Football/Wrestling/Baseball - 1992

  • Lloyd Halvorson, Football/Wrestling/Track & Field - 1965  

  • Richard Kinsman, Baseball/Football - 1988 

  • Leah Ranney, Gymnastics - 1982 


  • Katherine Switzer,Marathon Runner - 1964

  • Dale T. Wallace, Basketball and Track - 1978

  • Mike Hopkins, Football - 1987

  • Lonnie Goldberg, Football/Basketball/Baseball - 1988

  • Bill Swarm, Football - 1990

  • Andrew Barber, Dive - 2002


  • Virginia Annie Collier, Rugby - 1991

  • Mike Brown, Baseball - 1977

  • Terry Conroy, Coach

  • Dean Sissler, Coach


  • Joe Swarm, Football, Current Athletic Director


  • Ed Henry, GCM Football Coach

  • Bill Brown, Baseball - 1975

  • Betsy Bailey, Basketball - 1978

  • Tim Carney, Basketball - 1980

  • Katherine Mertz, Soccer - 1994


  • Nick Sorensen, Football - 1996


  • Herb Yost, Athletic Director - 1962-1982

  • 1971 Boys Cross Country Team

  • 1972 Boys Cross Country Team

  • 1976 Girls Basketball

  • Sean O'Neill, Table Tennis - 1985

  • Pete Schourek, Baseball - 1987

  • Mike McCrary, Football - 1988

  • Keith Lyle, Football - 1990​​